Triple Crown of Polo Wellington

WELLINGTON – In one of the biggest upsets of the World Polo League season, Pampa Norte Biotricity knocked off defending champion Richard Mille to win the Triple Crown of Polo Saturday at the Grand Champions Polo Club.

Pampa Norte Biotricity (Waqaas Al-Siddiq, Inaki Laprida, Felipe “Pipe” Vercellino, Martin Jauregui), making its 26-goal debut finals, defeated Richard Mille (Santos Bollini, Grant Ganzi, Pablo MacDonough, Juan Martin Nero) 14-13 in the WPL season finale.

Vercellino, 27, of Chile, competing in only his second Wellington season, was named Most Valuable Player. Vercellino led scoring with four goals, three on penalty conversions including two 60-yarders. Nero scored a game-high eight goals for Richard Mille.

Pampa Norte Biotricity was the tournament underdog because of its 20-goal rating. Other teams in the field were rated 25- or 26-goal. Richard Mille, a 25-goal rated team, had to spot Pampa Norte Biotricity a 5-0 lead before the game started.

Leave a Comment